Andrew Cedermark "Home Life"

"Yeah, 'On Me,' which includes the interpolation of the melody and theme of the Bill Withers song, was originally a demo of what became “Men in Jail.” But when I was toying with names, I ended up singing “Lean On Me” on that first song. And that was the one song I recorded at home on GarageBand. “Come Back” was also done at our apartment." (via BOMBLOG)

Following the 2010's "Moon Deluxe," Andrew Cedermark (the former Titus Andronicus guitarist) release his new full-length "Home Life". Out on July 16th via Underwater Peoples, Pre-order, HERE.

The majority of Home Life was recorded by Kevin McMahon at Marcata in New Paltz, New York, with two separate bands: on half the songs Kevin Haney played drums and Jacob Wolf played bass guitar; on the other half Alex Tretiak played drums and Sarim Al-Rawi (of Liquor Store) played bass guitar. Jacob played all the keys and contributed many melodies, and Andrew wrote the songs and plays all other parts. “On Me” and “Come Back” were recorded at homes in Charlottesville, VA and New York City.


Sonny & the Sunsets- Green Blood

Sonny & the Sunsets- Green Blood
from the album, "Antenna to the Afterworld"
Animation by Teppei Ando with Sonny Smith

via NPR First Watch section, HERE.


Liberation Living Room: Will Oldham

Liberation Living Room: Will Oldham (Ohio Riverboat Song - Palace Music) 

Liberation Living Room is a children's concert & discussion web series created by Jacob Duncan, the leader of the jazz folk/rock band, Liberation Prophecy. Here is an excerpt from the first Liberation Living Room episode. Will Oldham (Bonnie "Prince" Billy) is our special guest. He is accompanied by Liberation Prophecy. This episode takes place at Greenhaus in Louisville, KY, a locally and family-owned furniture store, for an audience of children and puppets. The puppets are provided by Squallis Puppeteers, which is run by Shawn Hennessy and Nora Christensen.

WATCH more :: Here, and Here
Liberation Living Room: Will Oldham/Bonnie Prince Billy
Liberation Living Room: Will Oldham (I Am Goodbye-Palace Music)


Advance Base plays the music of Washington Phillips

Advance Base plays the music of Washington Phillips!

From the EP "The World Is In A Bad Fix Everywhere: Advance Base Plays the Music of Washington Phillips," out on June 25th via Ordinal Records U.S.A., Advance Base is new music by Owen Ashworth (ex-Casiotone for the Painfully Alone).

For The World Is In A Bad Fix Everywhere, Advance Base’s Owen Ashworth has arranged a selection of Washington Phillips’ compositions for autoharp, piano, electric piano, drum machine & voice. Phillips’ unique, beautiful melodies & heartbreaking lyrics are a natural match for Ashworth’s raw, inventive production & doleful singing voice.


Coma Cinema "Posthumous"

South Carolina's Mat Cothran aka Coma Cinema has released the new full-length "Posthumous," available on Fork & Spoon Records. The album was recorded in Los Angeles, produced and engineered by Jason and Brad from TV Girl, mastered by Warren Hildebrand (Foxes In Fiction). Cassette Tape is also available on Orchid Tapes.

taken from "Posthumous"

WATCH :: Portals Music Session in Brooklyn, HERE.

releases 18 June 2013

Coma Cinema - Satan Made A Mansion (Official Video)
Directed by Swisskraft


Ryan Power "Identity Picks"

Stream the latest track taken from the upcoming Burlington, Vermont-based songwriter/producer, Ryan Power's "Identity Picks" LP, available on June 25th via NNA Tapes.


Jonathan Rado - Faces

Foxygen's co-frontman Jonathan Rado has announced his debut solo album "Law and Order," due out on September 3rd via Woodist. Stream the first track “Faces,” featuring Timothy Presley (of White Fence).

released 22 May 2013

amiina - Perth

amiina is a band based in Reykjavík Iceland. At present the band counts six people - Edda Rún Ólafsdóttir, Hildur Ársælsdóttir, María Huld Markan Sigfúsdóttir, Sólrún Sumarliðadóttir, Magnús Trygvason Eliassen and Guðmundur Vignir Karlsson (aka Kippi Kaninus).

taken from "The Lighthouse Project" 
available NOW via Sound Of A Handshake

from amiina

a live performance of the song Perth


Steve Gunn - Lurker

Steve Gunn - Lurker (live at Atlantic Sound Studios) (via)
A live studio version of a song from "Time Off" (PoB-08, 2013)

Brooklyn-based singer-guitarist Steve Gunn, formerly known as a member of GHQ and the Gunn-Truscinski Duo, and more recently, as a guitarist in fellow Philadelphia-bred troubadour Kurt Vile’s touring band the Violators, release his first album as leader of a trio, "Time Off," available on June 18th via Paradise of BachelorsFeaturing John Truscinski on drums and Justin Tripp (formerly of Aspera and Favourite Sons) on bass and guitar, and Helena Espvall (Espers) also guests on cello.  Pre-order, HERE.


Market East "Children of Summer"

'Dandelion Wine' is the second single from the Philadelphia/Brooklyn-based trio known as Market East's latest release, "Children of Summer," released on 5/27/13. The trio comprises of Kurt Cain-Walther (vocals), Max Perla (vocals, drums) and Vincent John (vocals, guitar / currently on tour with Lee Fields and The Expressions)

from Out Of Town Films

Out Of Town Films Presents: Market East "Marielle,"
the song is taken from their self-titled debut EP (2012)
Shot on location in a house in South Philadelphia, PA

Cover of The Delfonics' "La La (Means I Love You)" released on Summer 2012